Metamatic : The Official John Foxx Website...
NEWS DISCOGRAPHY MERCHANDISE ARCHIVE INDEX FORUM
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 11 of 22 1 2 9 10 11 12 13 21 22
#36475 01/26/11 10:26 AM
The packaging ploy worked for me too. "Shatterproof" sounds excellent.

#36476 01/26/11 12:37 PM
Personally, I don't agree with special packaging for first come first served, or even pay more, get different...but that's just me.
Just looking forward to the music.

#36477 01/26/11 01:10 PM
I don't particularly agree with not having a choice of where I can pre-order the album from, and was quite happy to wait a while longer until this persuasive bit of timely information came along...

However, as a designer, I'm interested in the packaging from the design to the finish, especially since I was impressed with Johnathan Barnbrook's work on David Bowie's Heathen and Reality albums. It's an extension of both the design and the music and therefore overall album experience.

#36478 01/28/11 09:44 PM
C
C
Its now available to pre-order on Cargo Records:

http://www.cargorecords.co.uk/release/15007

#36479 01/29/11 05:29 PM
C
C
My copy's been ordered with Townsend.

It's amazing how analogue sounds are so relevant now.

Chris smile

#36480 02/02/11 12:33 PM
H
H
Have to say I wasn't initially particularly excited about this project. I couldn't see the point of John going back to the same old tired analogue sounds of the CR78, Arp Odyssey and so forth; surely he'd been there and done that years ago, and as a forward-thinking artist would be more interested in using modern technology to come up with new songs and sounds. Likewise I knew little about Benge, but for the fact he seems more famous for the instruments he uses than the music he makes. The uninspiring "Destination" single last year seemed to confirm that this project wasn't really for me.