Metamatic : The Official John Foxx Website...
NEWS DISCOGRAPHY MERCHANDISE ARCHIVE INDEX FORUM
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 6 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
#15242 03/07/08 09:52 AM
Nice one Gaz! yes I remember the Tube performance as one big jaw dropping moment; (somewhat similar to 'Dancing' on OGWT) I was a first year uni student at the time of DS release and the TV room was always packed during The Tube on a Friday teatime, but on that particular occasion how my heroes were ridiculed! I also used to blast the whole DS album down the residence corridor and it wasn't always, er, appreciated. Thankyou for sharing that with me.

PS in the end I couldn't resist the i-tunes option and downloaded the whole album; won't put any spoilers up tho unless expressly requested! wink

#15243 03/07/08 10:09 AM
OP Offline
Quote:
Originally posted by MemberD:
PS in the end I couldn't resist the i-tunes option and downloaded the whole album; won't put any spoilers up tho unless expressly requested! wink
++SPOILERS REQUESTED++
++SPOILERS REQUESTED++
++SPOILERS REQUESTED++
++SPOILERS REQUESTED++
wink

#15244 03/07/08 10:56 AM
LOL LOL ..

well not really much to tell but just that it's no disappointment in sound quality and that's just the i-tunes format so I imagine the CD will be even better.

I'll just comment on the 'new tracks':
I was just a wee bit disappointed by the Telegraph 1981 Manor version as it is a bit of a mess both in arrangement and performance (hence why never previously released), it really sticks out like a sore thumb and shouldn't have been put straight after the traditional closer 'Of All the Things...'. Too abrupt IMHO (BTW spot which OMD song the bass line was used on some years later...)

Swiss Radio International - lives up to it's aka moniker as 'the ice cream van song' but as such I think it would have made an excellent closing track to the original LP.

So in short switch around Telegraph Manor and SRI and the CD is perfect!!!